Donate
ESPAÑOL
Instagram
Leave site now

Freedom from Sexual Violence

Event: Free Webinar – Effective Report Writing: Using the Language of Non-consensual Sex – for Sworn Law Enforcement Personnel

Nov
16

s_EVAWI_text_LOGO

 

This webinar is funded with an award from the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice to provide technical assistance specifically for front-line law enforcement professionals.  In fact, the webinar is being held on a Sunday morning, which is typically a slower time for law enforcement, in the hopes that graveyard and first watch officers can participate.

Even when properly investigated, the majority of reported sexual assaults are not successfully prosecuted. Prosecutors often argue that police reports are severely lacking while law enforcement argues that prosecuting attorneys want a sure win.  No matter how good an investigation is–the prosecuting attorney may not feel confident filing criminal charges if the reports are incomplete or inaccurate.  Or if the prosecutor files charges, the defendant may be acquitted if the reports summarizing the investigation are poorly written.  Defense attorneys often win cases because they attack the credibility of the investigation and the perception of the victim’s credibility, often with ammunition that comes from the investigator’s own reports.   A good report is more than an accurate summary of the facts.  A good report anticipates potential defense strategies and provides the information necessary to counter them.

Click here for more information on this webinar.

Sunday, November 16, 2014 — 6:00 AM PT/ 7:00 AM MT/ 8:00 AM CT/ 9:00 AM ET –

Click here to register.