Donate
ESPAÑOL
Instagram
Leave site now

Freedom from Sexual Violence

Event: Therapists Working with Trans Survivors

Sep
11

September 11 @ 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm

Registration open soon!

(noon-1:30 Pacific, 1-2:30pm Mountain, 2-3:30pm Central, 3-4:30pm Eastern)

 

Presenters:

michael munson is the co-founder and Executive Director of FORGE, an organization focused on improving the lives of transgender individuals by building stronger connections, providing resources, and empowering growth through knowledge. His educational background is in psychology, with an emphasis in trauma. Munson’s work on violence against transgender and gender non-conforming individuals is groundbreaking, stressing the intersectionality between complex components of identity, experience, and societal constructs that can both spur violence, as well as catalyze healing for individuals and communities. He is passionate about engaging professionals to embrace these complexities and learn key skills to better serve their clients/constituents.

Loree Cook-Daniels has been training about and working on policy changes to better address the needs of members of the transgender community since 1995. Prior to that, she worked for more than a decade on elder abuse and domestic violence issues. The two came together in 2004, when FORGE founded its Transgender Sexual Violence Project.

 

More information available in the near future.