Donate
ESPAÑOL
Instagram
Leave site now

Freedom from Sexual Violence

Event: Understanding the Legal Framework: Federal Laws and Case Law Impacting DV and SA Organizations

Mar
14

Please join the Center on Victimization and Safety for their next End Abuse of People with Disabilities webinar, “Understanding the Legal Framework: Federal Laws and Case Law Impacting DV and SA Organizations” will be held on March 14, 2017 at 2 pm ET (1 pm CT, 12 pm MT, 11 am PT). Survivors with disabilities and Deaf survivors need the services of domestic violence and sexual violence organizations at the same rate, if not more often, than people without disabilities. Service providers need to be aware that they are subject to federal laws that put in place certain requirements for serving survivors with disabilities and Deaf survivors. This webinar will review three pieces of federal law that articulate the minimum requirements for accommodations – the Americans with Disabilities Act, Rehabilitation Act, and Fair Housing Act. Additionally, it will provide some best practices for providing services to people with disabilities and Deaf people.
Register here.