Donate
ESPAÑOL
Instagram
Leave site now

Freedom from Sexual Violence

Event: Violence Against American Indian And Alaska Native Women And Men: 2010 Findings From The National Intimate Partner And Sexual Violence Survey

Violence Against American Indian And Alaska Native Women And Men: 2010 Findings From The National Intimate Partner And Sexual Violence Survey
May
18

NIWRC is excited to announce a webinar on Violence Against American Indian and Alaska Native Women and Men. Few estimates are available to describe the prevalence of violence experienced by American Indian (AI) and Alaska Native (AN) women and men. In addition, these estimates are often based on local rather than national samples. The few available national estimates are often based on very small samples. These small samples do not always accurately represent the AI and AN population in the United States.

This study provides the first set of estimates from a national large-scale survey of victimization among self-identified AI and AN men and women on psychological aggression, coercive control and entrapment, physical violence, stalking, and sexual violence, using detailed behaviorally specific questions. These results are expected to raise awareness and understanding of violence experienced by AI and AN people.

The webinar also will highlight the need for additional services that are needed for AI and AN victims of crime—a need that has been persistently noted but lacked the research to support efforts to increase resources or allocate them appropriately.

PRESENTED BY: Dr. André B. Rosay, Director Justice Center, University of Alaska Anchorage
FACILITATED BY: Gwendolyn Packard, NIWRC Program Specialist

Register here!

All webinars are scheduled 1pm – 2:30pm MST
(3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 12pm Pacific, 11am Alaska, 10am Hawaii), unless otherwise indicated.